G-Cloud (Government Cloud)

What is G-Cloud (Government Cloud)?

G-Cloud (Government Cloud) is a U.K. government program to promote government-wide adoption of cloud computing.

The G-Cloud procurement framework supports the U.K. government's Cloud First policy, which was introduced in 2012 to encourage public sector organizations to evaluate and pursue cloud-based services rather than on-premises alternatives.

G-Cloud procurement framework

To find technology suppliers and purchase services that are affiliated with the U.K.'s G-Cloud, public sector organizations can use Digital Marketplace.

Government agencies can buy services via Digital Marketplace from cloud computing providers, including AWS, Microsoft, Google, IBM and Oracle. These providers must supply a self-attestation of compliance.

Within the G-Cloud procurement framework, organizations can choose from three categories of cloud services:

  1. Cloud hosting. Infrastructure-as-a-service and platform-as-a-service offerings.
  2. Cloud software. Software-as-a-service applications.
  3. Support services. Support and maintenance services for cloud hosting and software.

As of the 12th iteration of the G-Cloud procurement framework, buyers can enter into a contract with their chosen service provider for a maximum term of 24 months with the option to extend.

Beyond G-Cloud, public sector organizations can use Digital Marketplace to purchase services that fall under two other frameworks from the U.K. government:

  1. Digital Outcomes and Specialists framework. Provides digital outcomes, digital specialists and user research services.
  2. Crown Hosting Data Centres framework. Provides physical data center space.
This was last updated in April 2024

Continue Reading About G-Cloud (Government Cloud)

Dig Deeper on Cloud app development and management

Data Center