meaningful use stage 2

Meaningful use stage 2 is the second phase of the meaningful use incentive program that details the second phase of requirements for the use of electronic health record (EHR) systems by hospitals and eligible health care providers.

Along with meaningful use stage 1, the second list of criteria and regulations is being established by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) and the Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT (ONC). Having received feedback from the health care community, CMS and ONC are compiling information and proposals in order to establish the list of criteria, which is likely to be finalized in early 2012.

As with the stage 1 requirements, meaningful use stage 2 will have a menu section and a core section of requirements, with core requirements mandatory and menu requirements chosen from a larger list.

Meaningful use stage 2 will consist of continuations of stage 1 requirements, with heightened demands for the number of electronic transactions. In addition, some stage 1 menu list items will move to the stage 2 core list -- meaning that optional choices from stage 1, such as submitting data to public health agencies and adding lab results to EHR systems, will be required in stage 2. Finally, stage 2 will likely incorporate a group of new requirements, many related to providing patients with access to their own medical records.

Meaningful use stage 2 is scheduled to begin in 2014.

See also: meaningful use stage 3, EHR implementation plan

This was last updated in February 2012

Continue Reading About meaningful use stage 2

Dig Deeper on Federal healthcare regulations and compliance

Cloud Computing
Mobile Computing