OSI model: List of some attacks

What type of security is associated with each layer of the OSI Model? Dear Jeffrey: Yes, as you may know, the OSI...

model consists of 7 layers (Physical, Data Link, Network, Transport, Session, Presentation, and Application). The type of security associated with each layer is defined better by asking what potential attacks exist at each layer; below is a list of some of the attacks:

Application attacks - Distributed DoS (DDoS) and spoofing
Presentation attacks - DDoS and spoofing
Session attacks - DDoS and spoofing
Transport attacks - DoS and hijacking
Network attacks - Spoofing of IP & poisoning of ARP
Data Link attacks - Overload of MAC table and port
Physical attacks - Sniffing and severing of backbone

Hope this provided the information you needed.
Take care,

This was last published in September 2004

Dig Deeper on Network management and monitoring

Unified Communications
Mobile Computing
Data Center