HIT standards committee

The Health Information Technology (HIT) standards committee is a federal committee created by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) that advises the Office of the National Coordinator for Health IT (ONC) on matters of standards, certification criteria and other issues surrounding electronic health records (EHRs) and meaningful use. This committee focuses heavily on the policies developed by the health information technology (HIT) policy committee.

The committee is made up of a variety of qualified health care players, including providers, health care workers, consumers, technology vendors, researchers and other individuals with technical expertise. There are multiple subcommittees that each work on a specific issue within health care

• Clinical Operations: advises HIT standards community regarding EHRs

• Clinical Quality: makes recommendations on specific quality measures in meaningful use.

• Privacy & Security: deals with privacy and security in meaningful use

• Implementation: focuses on “real world” implementation techniques

• Vocabulary Task Force: identifies and fills need for clinical and administrative vocabulary in health care bills.

See also: HIPAA

Read more about HIT Standards Committee:

The HIT standards committee official government website



This was last updated in February 2011

Dig Deeper on Federal healthcare regulations and compliance