DevOps certification

DevOps certification is a formalized testing program intended to ensure that applicants have achieved an appropriate level of skills and knowledge for working in the converged areas of software development and IT operations.

DevOps is often said to be more of a philosophy or a collaborative IT culture rather than a strictly-defined job description or skill set. Because the area is so broad, DevOps positions may be more suited to IT generalists than specialists. Nevertheless, DevOps job candidates are expected to have specific qualifications. Most entry-level DevOps jobs require a degree in computer science or a related field that covers coding, QA testing and IT infrastructure components. Higher-level positions may require advanced degrees in systems architecture and software design.

Red Hat is one organization that offers DevOps certification. Red Hat’s courses and exams are designed to test expertise in relevant technologies such as containers, OpenShift, Ansible, Red Hat Enterprise Linux Atomic Host and Puppet.

Red Hat offers five courses with exams:

  • Developing Containerized Applications
  • OpenShift Enterprise Administration
  • Cloud Automation with Ansible
  • Managing Docker Containers with RHEL Atomic Host
  • Configuration Management with Puppet

The DevOps Institute also offers training and certification programs. The institute’s 16-hour introductory course focuses on communication, collaboration, integration and automation of functions occurring between software development and IT operations teams.

Amazon Web Services offers the AWS Certified DevOps Engineer - Professional exam, which validates technical expertise in provisioning, operating, and managing distributed application systems on the AWS platform.


This was last updated in September 2016

Continue Reading About DevOps certification

Dig Deeper on IT operations careers and skills